Children & Funerals in a Global Pandemic

April 16, 2020 | 2:00 p.m. Eastern | 1:00 p.m. Central | 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 11:00 a.m. Pacific (1 hour)
Free

image

Presentation Description

In a time with restrictions on gathering sizes and with physical distancing in place to keep us safe, how can we make funerals still meaningful for those grieving their loved one that died and how can we keep children involved in the process. Join Hamilton’s Academy of Grief & Loss to talk more about this and learn how you can support those who might be struggling with changes in this important process.

About the Presenter

Buffy Peters is the Director of Hamilton’s Academy of Grief & Loss in Des Moines, Iowa. This unique division of Hamilton’s Funeral Home provides grief related education, information, resources and support free of charge to the community. In addition to adult grief services, the Academy provides grief support in schools as well as two children’s grief programs, Little Hands and Healing Hearts, for children 3 ½ to 6 years old and 1st through 6th grade students. Prior to joining the Hamilton’s family in August of 2014, Buffy was an avid volunteer with a local grief center where she was a camp counselor and support group facilitator for 7 years.

DOWNLOAD HANDOUT