Thriving Over Surviving: Helping Gen Z Integrate Grief Through the “Tough Stuff”

April 13, 2020 | 2:00 p.m. Eastern | 1:00 p.m. Central | 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 11:00 a.m. Pacific (1 hour)
Free

Presentation Description

While our minds may be stuck on COVID-19 at the moment, “tough stuff” has not been in short supply lately. We all cope differently with these experiences, we are seeing generational commonalities that may differ from our own. Join us as we take a peek into the Gen Z brain, helping us to shift our thinking around what they may be struggling with and how they tend to cope in their generation. We all may be feeling a bit stuck through this round of “tough stuff,” but we still have room to grow. It’s time to help Gen Z learn to integrate their grief journeys into other life experiences, so they no longer just feel as though they are surviving - it’s time to start thriving!

image

Objectives:

  1. Identify generational shifts that may be helping or hindering their coping skills.
  2. Examine outlets to help teens and young adults begin to integrate their grief journey into life experiences. 
  3. Expand our offerings to teens and young adults who are grieving. 

About the Presenter

Kiri Meyer, MS, LPC is a Licensed Professional Counselor in WI, a small business owner, and a grief camp enthusiast! Kiri enjoys working with a variety of grieving populations, but finds great interest in working with the many times over looked population - young adults. Currently she is working as a Bereavement Counselor for Horizon Home Care and Hospice's Grief Resource Center, based in Milwaukee.

DOWNLOAD Handout 1- Slides

DOWNLOAD Handout 2- Young Adult Writing Prompts