COVID-19

For many that offer grief support to children, teens and those that care for them there are many challenges as a result of the social distancing that is necessary in light of the global pandemic.  We are creating a series of webinars that focus on program challenges our membership is experiencing. These are free and open to everyone. Please join us and share so we can support the widest audience possible.

Click on the titles to learn more and to register.

COVID-19 Connections: Tele-therapy in a Time of Need
March 19, 2020 | 1:00 p.m. Eastern | 10:00 a.m. Pacific (1 hours)
Presented by Alesia K. Alexander, LCSW, CT

Strategies for Managing Anxiety and Fear for You and Your Children
March 24, 2020 | 2:00 p.m. Eastern | 11:00 a.m. Pacific (1 hour)
Presented by Melissa Lunardini, M.A., MBA

KEEP CALM and Join Us
March 26, 2020 | 4:00 p.m. Eastern | 1:00 p.m. Pacific (1 hour) 
Presented by Michelle Post, MA, LMFT

Creative Ways to Stay Engaged!
March 31, 2020 | 3:00 p.m. Eastern | 12:00 p.m. Pacific (1 hour) 
Presented by Stephanie Heitkemper, MA MFT, LPC, RPT

Expanding Our Outreach during Challenging Times: Connecting with Grieving Children, Teens and Young Adults of All Abilities in an Online Format
April 2, 2020 | 2:00 p.m. Eastern | 1:00 p.m. Central | 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 11:00 a.m. Pacific (1.5 hours) 
Presented by Jennifer Wiles, MA, LMHC, BC-DMT, Katie McGrail, MA, R-DMT, Stewart McKenzie, BS, Social Work Intern

Zoom Practice* with Pamela- Friday @ 4:00 pm ET (*Reserved for NAGC Members Only)
April 3, 2020 | 4:00 p.m. Eastern
Pamela Gabbay, Ed.D., FT

Living My Best Quarantined Life! (Just kidding, I have teenagers!)
April 9, 2020 | 2:00 p.m. Eastern | 1:00 p.m. Central | 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 11:00 a.m. Pacific (1 hour)
Kris Fulkerson, LCSW

Thriving Over Surviving: Helping Gen Z Integrate Grief Through the “Tough Stuff”
April 13, 2020 | 2:00 p.m. Eastern | 1:00 p.m. Central | 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 11:00 a.m. Pacific (1 hour)
Kiri Meyer, MS, LPC, NCC

 

3.15.20
With all of the news about the Coronavirus going around, we want you to know that we are staying tuned in and will always make the safest decisions with regards to our events.

The NAGC would like to encourage everyone to prioritize self-care. For many of us, there is grief in the loss of normalcy, and we encourage you to hold space for that. We want you to know you are not alone in the experience, the challenges it may be creating and the feelings that may be surfacing. In response to this, the NAGC (with the support of Alex Cares for Grieving Youth®) has released the booklet "Coping with Change and Loss" to be shared freely with families.
Click here to download this free resource.NAGC Activity Booklet Cover 400px

 3.4.20
We have created a flyer that can be shared.. This information is directly from the CDC and focuses on the preventative measures we can all take to stay well. You can download the flyer HERE.

The NAGC's 2019 Annual Report

NAGC Annual Report 2019 FINAL web Page 1
The National Alliance for Grieving Children is pleased to share our 2019 annual review with you. It is because of you and others who support our mission that our work on behalf of grieving children is accomplished and the goal that no child grieves alone becomes a reality.

The NAGC is a nationwide network comprised of professionals, organizations, institutions and volunteers who promote best practices, educational programming and critical resources to facilitate the mental, emotional and physical health of grieving youth and their families. We are the only national organization dedicated solely to supporting grieving children.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, staff and our members, it is an honor to share an overview of the powerful work of the NAGC. We hope you will take a few minutes to review the information, celebrate the great work and share with others who might have an interest in becoming an ambassador for grieving children.

Continue Reading

National Alliance for Grieving Children (NAGC) Announces New Board Members

LUBBOCK, TX, December 2, 2019- Following a nation-wide request for nominations from child bereavement field professionals and an election by the membership of the organization, the National Alliance for Grieving Children (NAGC) announced that its membership and Board of Directors has elected Cristina M. Chipriano, Mary Robinson, and Brennan Wood as members of the Board of Directors for the National Alliance for Grieving Children. Their term of service will begin January 2020.

Continue Reading